TWB Blue Heart Award

The Wounded Blue, which is leading the fight to help injured and disabled law enforcement officers,
created the Order of The Wounded Blue Heart award to recognize the sacrifice of law enforcement
officers who have been injured in the line of duty. The Wounded Blue Heart Award is not given but
earned at a very high cost. Here are the criteria for receiving a Blue Heart award for being wounded in
the line of duty (or for having it presented to a surviving spouse or family member in the event of

  • A police officer or member of another law enforcement agency
  • On duty at the time of the injury, or if off-duty, injured while responding to a police situation
  • Acting under legal authority 
  • Injured due to the actions of others rather than own negligence

For purposes of receiving the Blue Heart award, a wound is defined as a severe or disabling injury to
any part of the body from an outside force or agent. The wound must require treatment by a medical
professional. Examples of such injuries include, but are not limited to:

  • gunshot wounds
  • stabbing wounds
  • physical assault
  • car wreck or other accidental cause
  • falls
  • broken bones, muscle injuries, or other wounds
  • concussion or other internal head trauma

In the case of injury due to the actions of another officer, the wound shall be considered to have been
inflicted by an outside force and will qualify for the Blue Heart award.

Application to receive a Wounded Blue Heart award must include a full description of the injury and
the circumstances that led to it, along with documentary evidence of the medical treatment required as
a result of the injury. All Blue Heart award applications are reviewed by the board of The Wounded
Blue prior to being approved.